Tag Archives: book signing

Berta’s Books
Julia Claiborne Johnson
Be Frank With Me

Roberta Rubin interviews author Julia Claiborne Johnson about her newest novel Be Frank With Me.

Reclusive novelist Mimi Banning needs the assistant her publisher sent, Alice, to help her finish her book… But it’s Mimi’s nine year old son Frank who actually runs things in this breakout debut novel.

Be Frank With Me
by Julia Claiborne Johnson
$25.99
Air Date/Time: May 10, 3:30pm (Central)
304, hardcover

Reclusive literary legend M. M. “Mimi” Banning has been holed up in her Bel Air mansion for years. But after falling prey to a Bernie Madoff-style ponzi scheme, she’s flat broke. Now Mimi must write a new book for the first time in decades, and to ensure the timely delivery of her manuscript, her New York publisher sends an assistant to monitor her progress. The prickly Mimi reluctantly complies—with a few stipulations: No Ivy-Leaguers or English majors. Must drive, cook, tidy. Computer whiz. Good with kids. Quiet, discreet, sane.
When Alice Whitley arrives at the Banning mansion, she’s put to work right away—as a full-time companion to Frank, the writer’s eccentric nine-year-old, a boy with the wit of Noel...

Learn More About the Book/Order

Solved!
Sebastian Rotella
Rip Crew

Libby Fischer Hellmann interviews author Sebastian Rotella about his latest crime thriller Rip Crew.

Sebastian Rotella is the author of The Convert’s Song and Triple Crossing, which the New York Times Book Review named its favorite debut crime novel of 2011, as well as the nonfiction book Twilight on the Line. He is a senior reporter covering international security issues for ProPublica, a newsroom dedicated to investigative journalism in the public interest. He worked for twenty-three years for the Los Angeles Times, serving as bureau chief in Paris and Buenos Aires. His honors include a Peabody Award; Columbia University’s Dart Award and Moors Cabot Prize for Latin American coverage; the German Marshall Fund’s Weitz Prize for reporting in Europe; five Overseas Press Club Awards; The Urbino Prize of Italy, and an Emmy nomination. He was a Pulitzer finalist for international reporting in 2006.

Rip Crew
by Sebastian Rotella
$27.00
Air Date/Time: April 27, 2pm (Central)
336, hardcover

Valentine Pescatore, the globetrotting former Border Patrol agent, finds himself back on American soil investigating the merciless killing of a group of women in a motel room. Award-winning reporter-turned-author Sebastian Rotella returns to crime with this propulsive new work.

At first, the crime seems to be a straightforward case of gangsters battling for territory. Soon, however, the motive is revealed to be much deeper and more sinister: a single witness who knows too much is being hunted, at any cost.

From an author who has been praised for his “pounding action scenes [and] ferocious prose style” (Marilyn Stasio, NYTBR), RIP CREW races at breakneck speed as Pescatore finds himself face-to-face with his most terrifying assignment yet.

Sebastian Rotella is the author of...

Learn More About the Book/Order

A House Divided
Frank Cicero
Creating the Land of Lincoln

Daniel Weinberg interviews author Frank Cicero about his newest title Creating the Land of Lincoln:The History and Constitutions of Illinois, 1778-1870

Samuel Wheeler, Ph.D., the State Historian of Illinois, will be joining us to discuss the Illinois Bicentennial, and an exciting new exhibit at the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum.

Submit your questions in the comments and order a signed book below!

Order Your Signed Copy.

Creating the Land of Lincoln
by Frank Cicero
$29.95
Air Date/Time: April 14, 12 pm (Central)
288, hardcover

How three constitutions built the modern Prairie State

In its early days, Illinois seemed destined to extend the American South. Its population of transplants lived an upland southern culture and in some cases owned slaves. Yet the nineteenth century and three constitutions recast Illinois as a crucible of northern strength and American progress.

Frank Cicero Jr. provides an appealing new history of Illinois as expressed by the state’s constitutions—and the lively conventions that led to each one. In Creating the Land of Lincoln, Cicero sheds light on the vital debates of delegates who, freed from electoral necessity, revealed the opinions, prejudices, sentiments, and dreams of Illinoisans at critical junctures in state history. Cicero analyzes decisions large and small that fostered...

Learn More About the Book/Order

Lit With Love
Lauren Dane
Jagged

Sonali Dev interviews author Lauren Dane about the latest novel in the Whiskey Sharp Series – Jagged: about the baker-next-door who gets a former FBI agent turned tattoo artist all het up. Cue line about buns? No?
Order Your Signed Copy.

Jagged: Whiskey Sharp Series Book 2
by Lauren Dane
$7.99
Air Date/Time: April 19, 3:00pm (Central)
352, paperback

Fans of the first Whiskey Sharp book rejoice: not only do you get an update on Maybe and Alexsei, but you meet his cousin Vicktor and her friend Rachel, and it seems likely that they fall in love…

Let’s learn:
Vicktor Orlov took one look at the wary gaze and slow-to-trust personality of the deliciously sexy and fascinating Rachel Dolan and knew he wanted more than just a casual friendship. But as a natural protector, he also knew bossiness and overprotective maneuvering would push her away.

Rachel’s flourishing new career as a tattoo artist has brought color back into a life previously damaged by violence. She knows she can trust Vic—it’s herself she’s not sure of. She doesn’t want...

Learn More About the Book/Order

Solved!
Jeffery Deaver
The Burial Hour

Libby Fischer Hellmann interviews author Jeffery Deaver about the latest Lincoln Rhyme novel The Burial Hour.

Jeffery Deaver is the #1 international bestselling author of more than thirty novels, three collections of short stories, and a nonfiction law book. His books are sold in 150 countries and translated into 25 languages. His first novel featuring Lincoln Rhyme, The Bone Collector, was made into a major motion picture starring Denzel Washington and Angelina Jolie. He’s received or been shortlisted for a number of awards around the world. A former journalist, folksinger, and attorney, he was born outside of Chicago and has a bachelor of journalism degree from the University of Missouri and a law degree from Fordham University. You can visit his website at www.JefferyDeaver.com..

The Burial Hour
by Jeffery Deaver
$15.99
Air Date/Time: March 16, 3pm (Central)
512, paperback

Forensic detective Lincoln Rhyme is back with his most harrowing case yet in this newest installment of Jeffrey Deaver’s New York Times bestselling series.

A businessman snatched from an Upper East Side street in broad daylight. A miniature hangman’s noose left at the scene. A nine-year-old girl, the only witness to the crime. With a crime scene this puzzling, forensic expertise of the highest order is absolutely essential. Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs are called in to investigate.

Soon the case takes a stranger turn: a recording surfaces of the victim being slowly hanged, his desperate gasps the backdrop to an eerie piece of music. The video is marked as the work of The Composer…

Despite their best efforts, the suspect gets away....

Learn More About the Book/Order

Berta’s Books
Elizabeth Berg
The Story of Arthur Truluv

Roberta Rubin interviews author Elizabeth Berg about her newest title novel about loneliness, love, and making a new family: The Story of Arthur Truluv.

Order Your Signed Copy.

The Story of Arthur Truluv
By Elizabeth Berg
$26.00
Air Date/Time January 18, 2pm (Central)
1st ed., 240 p., hardcover

“I dare you to read this novel and not fall in love with Arthur Truluv. His story will make you laugh and cry, and will show you a love that never ends, and what it means to be truly human.”—Fannie Flagg

An emotionally powerful novel about three people who each lose the one they love most, only to find second chances where they least expect them

“Fans of Meg Wolitzer, Emma Straub, or [Elizabeth] Berg’s previous novels will appreciate the richly complex characters and clear prose. Redemptive without being maudlin, this story of two misfits lucky to have found one another will tug at readers’ heartstrings.”—Booklist

For the past six months, Arthur Moses’s days have looked the same:...

Learn More About the Book/Order

A House Divided
Paula Tarnapol Whitacre
A Civil Life in an Uncivil Time

A Civil Life in an Uncivil Time

Bjorn Skaptason interviewed Paula Tarnapol Whitacre about her new book, A Civil Life in an Uncivil Time: Julia Wilbur’s Struggle for Purpose.

Abandoning a sad yet safe life, Julia moves to Alexandria to become a relief agent in a Union hospital during the worst of the Civil War. Through Wilbur’s diary, Whitacre is able to show exactly how the times change us and we change them back.

Order Your Signed Copy.

A Civil Life in an Uncivil Time

A Civil Life in an Uncivil Time: Julia Wilbur’s Struggle for Purpose
By Paula Tarnapol Whitacre
$32.95
Air Date/Time September 28, 5pm (Central)
1st ed., 320  pages, hardcover

In the fall of 1862 Julia Wilbur left her family’s farm near Rochester, New York, and boarded a train to Washington DC. An ardent abolitionist, the forty-seven-year-old Wilbur left a sad but stable life, headed toward the chaos of the Civil War, and spent most of the next several years in Alexandria devising ways to aid recently escaped slaves and hospitalized Union soldiers.

A Civil Life in an Uncivil Time shapes Wilbur’s diaries and other primary sources into a historical narrative sending the reader back 150 years to understand a woman who was alternately brave, self-pitying, foresighted, petty—and all too human.

Paula Tarnapol Whitacre describes Wilbur’s experiences against the backdrop of Alexandria, Virginia,...

Learn More About the Book/Order