Tag Archives: book signing

Berta's Books Event Logo

Berta’s Books
Elizabeth Berg
The Story of Arthur Truluv

Roberta Rubin interviews author Elizabeth Berg about her newest title novel about loneliness, love, and making a new family: The Story of Arthur Truluv.

Order Your Signed Copy.

The Story of Arthur Truluv
By Elizabeth Berg
$26.00
Air Date/Time January 18, 2pm (Central)
1st ed., 240 p., hardcover

“I dare you to read this novel and not fall in love with Arthur Truluv. His story will make you laugh and cry, and will show you a love that never ends, and what it means to be truly human.”—Fannie Flagg

An emotionally powerful novel about three people who each lose the one they love most, only to find second chances where they least expect them

“Fans of Meg Wolitzer, Emma Straub, or [Elizabeth] Berg’s previous novels will appreciate the richly complex characters and clear prose. Redemptive without being maudlin, this story of two misfits lucky to have found one another will tug at readers’ heartstrings.”—Booklist

For the past six months, Arthur Moses’s days have looked the same:...

Learn More About the Book/Order

A House Divided Page Header

A House Divided
Paula Tarnapol Whitacre
A Civil Life in an Uncivil Time

A Civil Life in an Uncivil Time

Bjorn Skaptason interviewed Paula Tarnapol Whitacre about her new book, A Civil Life in an Uncivil Time: Julia Wilbur’s Struggle for Purpose.

Abandoning a sad yet safe life, Julia moves to Alexandria to become a relief agent in a Union hospital during the worst of the Civil War. Through Wilbur’s diary, Whitacre is able to show exactly how the times change us and we change them back.

Order Your Signed Copy.

A Civil Life in an Uncivil Time

A Civil Life in an Uncivil Time: Julia Wilbur’s Struggle for Purpose
By Paula Tarnapol Whitacre
$32.95
Air Date/Time September 28, 5pm (Central)
1st ed., 320  pages, hardcover

In the fall of 1862 Julia Wilbur left her family’s farm near Rochester, New York, and boarded a train to Washington DC. An ardent abolitionist, the forty-seven-year-old Wilbur left a sad but stable life, headed toward the chaos of the Civil War, and spent most of the next several years in Alexandria devising ways to aid recently escaped slaves and hospitalized Union soldiers.

A Civil Life in an Uncivil Time shapes Wilbur’s diaries and other primary sources into a historical narrative sending the reader back 150 years to understand a woman who was alternately brave, self-pitying, foresighted, petty—and all too human.

Paula Tarnapol Whitacre describes Wilbur’s experiences against the backdrop of Alexandria, Virginia,...

Learn More About the Book/Order