Tag Archives: Fiction

Berta’s Books
Kathleen Rooney
Lillian Boxfish Takes A Walk

Roberta Rubin interviews author Kathleen Rooney about her newest title Lillian Boxfish Takes A Walk.

Lillian is on her way to a party when she decides to stroll down memory lane quite literally.

Order Your Signed Copy.

Lillian Boxfish Takes A Walk
by Kathleen Rooney
$25.99
Air Date/Time: March 20, 3:00pm (Central)
304, hardcover and later paperback

It’s the last night of 1984 and Lillian, 85 years old but just as sharp and savvy as ever, is on her way to a party. It’s chilly enough out for her mink coat and Manhattan is grittier now ― her son keeps warning her about a subway vigilante on the prowl ― but the quick-tongued poetess has never been one to scare easily. On a walk that takes her over 10 miles around the city, she meets bartenders, bodega clerks, security guards, criminals, children, parents, and parents-to-be, while reviewing a life of excitement and adversity, passion and heartbreak, illuminating all the ways New York has changed ― and has not.

A love letter to city life in all...

Learn More About the Book/Order

Berta’s Books
Elizabeth Berg
The Story of Arthur Truluv

Roberta Rubin interviews author Elizabeth Berg about her newest title novel about loneliness, love, and making a new family: The Story of Arthur Truluv.

Order Your Signed Copy.

The Story of Arthur Truluv
By Elizabeth Berg
$26.00
Air Date/Time January 18, 2pm (Central)
1st ed., 240 p., hardcover

“I dare you to read this novel and not fall in love with Arthur Truluv. His story will make you laugh and cry, and will show you a love that never ends, and what it means to be truly human.”—Fannie Flagg

An emotionally powerful novel about three people who each lose the one they love most, only to find second chances where they least expect them

“Fans of Meg Wolitzer, Emma Straub, or [Elizabeth] Berg’s previous novels will appreciate the richly complex characters and clear prose. Redemptive without being maudlin, this story of two misfits lucky to have found one another will tug at readers’ heartstrings.”—Booklist

For the past six months, Arthur Moses’s days have looked the same:...

Learn More About the Book/Order

Solved!
Sujata Massey
The Widows of Malabar Hill

Libby Hellmann will speak with award-winning author Sujata Massey about her newest woman Detective working in 1920’s Bombay in  The Widows of Malabar Hill.

Order Your Signed Copy. 

The Widows of Malabar Hill
by Sujata Massey
$26.95
Air Date/Time: January 10, 3:30pm (Central)
400p, hardcover

1920s India: Perveen Mistry, Bombay’s first female lawyer, is investigating a suspicious will on behalf of three Muslim widows… when the case takes a turn toward the murderous.

The author of the Agatha and Macavity Award-winning Rei Shimura novels brings us an atmospheric new historical mystery with a captivating heroine. 

Inspired in part by the woman who made history as India’s first female attorney, The Widows of Malabar Hill is a richly wrought story of multicultural 1920s Bombay as well as the debut of a sharp and promising new sleuth.

Perveen Mistry, the daughter of a respected Zoroastrian family, has just joined her father’s law firm, becoming one of the first female lawyers in India. Armed with a legal education from Oxford,...

Learn More About the Book/Order

A House Divided
George Saunders
Lincoln in the Bardo

Bjorn Skaptason talked with George Saunders about Lincoln in the Bardo. This interview aired 7 months before Saunders, and Bardo, won the 2017 Man Booker Prize.
Congratulations to George Saunders! – who spoke with us for over an hour and accepted questions from the audience and was incomparably generous throughout his visit. A lovely man and a beautiful story – check it out below.

Order Your Signed Copy.

Lincoln in the Bardo
By George Saunders
$165.00 Signed First Edition
Air Date/Time March 2, 3:00pm (Central)
Re-air date: September 19th, 1 pm (Central)
cloth, 368p, cloth, dj.

Winner of the 2017 Man Booker Prize

The long-awaited first novel from the author of Tenth of December, this moving and original father-son story features none other than Abraham Lincoln, as well as an unforgettable cast of supporting characters, living and dead, historical and invented. 

February 1862. The Civil War is less than one year old. The fighting has begun in earnest, and the nation has begun to realize it is in for a long, bloody struggle. Meanwhile, President Lincoln’s beloved eleven-year-old son, Willie, lies upstairs in the White House, gravely ill. In a matter of days, despite predictions of a recovery, Willie dies and is laid to rest in...

Learn More About the Book/Order